Merry Christmas

This Christmas, there’s a family, who won’t be celebrating Christmas. No it’s not because they’re missing a tree, or turkey. It’s not because they forgot to get presents, they have plenty, and it’s not for lack of mistletoe or eggnog. No, sadly, this particular family is missing something much worse, their son. This particular young man, by the age of 28, whom I got to know quite well, passed away just a week before Christmas. Whenever he stopped by my work (I work retail) we’d stop and chat over the events regarding video games. In fact the day before he died, I had just saw him, and of course our conversation led to Overwatch.

Before this, I was having trouble putting pen to paper as it were, I was thinking of making another man year, or top 5 games I’ve played. I simply wanted to bury the hatchet for one time out of the year, and focus on a positive story, or just not an attack on another games journalist. Outrage, as it is, seems to be a habit of mine, and I’ve been trying to break out of the same old rant, if only for the sake of it being Christmas. It wasn’t until this young man’s passing that it made me realize how short of a time we have on this planet, spending that time being angry at something, is a waste of that time.

This applies to all of us, be it angry at Trump, or angry at some random Social Justice Warrior, or, even in my case angry at games media. What we do with this time is precious and shouldn’t be used attacking something, or if the very least, not all the time. This year has seen quite a bit of disappointment, a few can attest to that. You can stand there being bitter, or you can do something positive. It’s something I was told a long time ago, and it’s some good advice I pass on to my audience.

So, I usually make a rant and end it with my two cents, and make a few sentences regarding why I think the way I do and be done with it. I’m not going to do that this time, even if it’s a phrase I coin a lot. Instead, I’m going to wish everyone a Merry Christmas, and a happy New Year, may you spend it with those you love, because you never know how long you have, make the most of it. This includes everyone who despises me, I know I’ve ruffled one or two feathers in games journalism so this ones for you specifically. Merry Christmas to you, may you find all the love and joy that you seek.

dj_merry-christmas-invaders

Leave a comment